Skip to content

A personal letter to the future

February 8, 2010

My wife was lying on the operating table, and I was sitting on the other side of the wall waiting for the midwife to usher me in. I wasn’t nervous, just resigned.

My thoughts then came around to composing a letter for my future child, of the type one regularly penned by great writers written to the future generation they have created, full of wise insights that should be handed down, and also imbued with ideals of what the future will hold for the little child. Generally these letters should inspire and embolden when read at, say, 15 years down the road. So here is my attempt at this genre.

My dearest first-born-daughter,

“Go clean your bloody room!”

Your ever-wise parents.

x

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 9, 2010 11:41 am

    …And turn that volume down, will ya?

Leave a Reply

